The First of Octember

Everyone wants
a big green kangaroo.
Maybe, perhaps,
you would like to have TWO.

I want you to have them.
I’ll buy them for you…

…if you’ll wait till the First of Octember.

–Dr. Seuss

The First of Octember is a great read for kids and adults alike.  Reading is fun when it’s FUN so this month, I’ve created a mini October Reading Program for my kids. We like to read around here but sometimes find ourselves in a rut:  when its reading time, the kids mope around saying they’ve read all of our books a thousand times, they’ve finished all of their library books and blah blah.  Sometimes just presenting the same books in a different way is all it takes to peak some interest.  I’ve noticed at our local library they often group all of the books for summer or an upcoming holiday in one easy-to-find spot, so that’s what I decided to do.

I hunted through our book shelf and grabbed all Halloween books plus any other ‘scary’ stories like Scooby Doo and The Itsy Bitsy Spider.  I even threw in Mother Goose Rhymes since our particular version is illustrated by Richard “Scarry”.

IMG_1285Just pulling these books out and stacking them on the counter generated interest.  My five-year-old was digging through the pile to find his favorites and when I told him he had to wait two more days until October, he was disappointed.  {Mental high-five}.

I plan to keep these books in a basket by the fireplace all month for easy access.  If your home library is small –I remember when we had not a kids book to our name–you could easily do this by visiting your local library.  I may add some Halloween library books myself to round out our collection and add variety for the more advanced readers in our home.

Look for these favorites if you visit your public library:

For Baby:

  • Where is Baby’s Pumpkin  by Karen Katz
  • Duck and Goose Find a Pumpkin by Tad Hills
  • My First Halloween Board Book by DK Publishing
  • My First Halloween by Tomie dePaola

For Preschoolers and Early Elementary:

  • Clifford’s Halloween by Norman Bridwell
  • The Berenstain Bears Trick-or-Treat by Stan Berenstain
  • Pinkalicious Pink or Treat by Victoria Kann
  • Corduroy’s Best Halloween Ever by Don Freeman
  • My Monster Mama Loves Me So  by Laura Leuk

For Elementary School Age:

  • A Good Night for Ghosts by Mary Pope Osborne
  • Haunted Castle on Hallows Eve by Mary Pope Osborne
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

If the kids finish their Spooooky Book Club this month, they’ll receive a small prize or privilege from Mom.  I don’t know what it is yet but I have a month to figure it out.  It might be a special treat, a movie night with popcorn, a “Free Day” from chores, or a sleepover in the family room on Halloween night.

Click on the link below for a free printable that will work with any selection of books.  Just have the child fill in the title of the book next to each activity:

Spooky Book Club2014

So, get those kids reading!!  Tomorrow, I’ll tell you what I’ll be reading this month!

2 thoughts on “The First of Octember

Leave a Reply

