Live, Breathe, Exist

IMG_1375

Yesterday was one of those days where I woke up with my mind spinning right where it left off the night before, thinking of all the things on my plate that needed attention.  I could already feel the anxiety creeping into my chest and threatening to stay there in a knot until I started checking things off my list.  I hate that feeling.  My knee-jerk impulse is to run around like an un-showered madwoman because “that’s what it will take to get all the things done that I have to do today.”  I will neglect my exercise, make poor food choices and as I do, the feeling in the home will instantly deteriorate as I bark orders at the kids, race out the door for school drop off and then come home and give my youngest about 1/4 of the attention she deserves.  I will feel ugly and angry and by 8:21 am I will want to throw this day to the dogs.

But I didn’t.  Instead I got the kids off to school and went for a walk with Princess Head in the stroller.  I walked fast.  I walked far.  I exercised my body and I talked to my baby girl about our big and beautiful world.  I stopped and snapped the picture above of the fenced path we walked, the trees starting to show off their fall colors.  And I existed and lived and breathed in a moment and it was wonderful.

I left my stress and panic somewhere along the way and when I got home, I could face the day in a healthy manner.  In fact, a lot of what was stressing me out seemed to disappear and I remembered what was really important.  I showered, dressed and did my make up.  I watched Mickey Mouse Clubhouse with my daughter.  We had reading/snuggle time on the couch and read about 10 books together.  I loved it.  She loved it.  And guess what?  I still got the grocery list ready, we made it to the soccer games, dinner was on the table at 5:30.  I honestly don’t remember what else was stressing me out so much.  We had a great day and there was a calm and peaceful feeling in our home and in my heart.

Leave a Reply

