No-Sew Fleece Blanket

I am making four of these snuggly blankets this year for my kids for Christmas.  In case you’ve never made one, here are some simple instructions:  (no sewing required)

1.  For this project you will need 1 to 1 1/2 yards of fleece.  For my older kids, I used 1 1/2 yards.  For my two-year-old, one yard was sufficient otherwise I think she’d have a hard time dragging it around.  You’ll also need a pair of scissors or a rotary cutter and mat:

IMG_2117

2.  Trim off any print or uneven edges you do not wish to have on the finished blanket:

IMG_2118

3.  Choose where you want the fringe (2 sides) and cut strips approximately 1″ wide and 6-10″ long, depending on how “fringe-y” you want it.  I did mine about 8-10 inches, give or take.  I didn’t measure too strenuously–just eyeballed it.  If you want to be more exact, measure and pin every few inches and cut accordingly.

IMG_2124

4.  Tie each strip in a knot, cinching it up close to the main blanket fabric.

IMG_2127

I’m doing two sports blankets for my boys (different patterns or I will be living the nightmare of “That one is mine!”), Olaf for my daughter and Mickey Mouse for the youngest.

Leave a Reply

